Give me an old man’s death

After discussing Roger McGough’s “give me a younger man’s death” and apology to Dylan Thomas

Give me an old man’s death,

not crushed by barbell

or chucked by dumb belle.

Oh! Make it linger make it last,

not shot by Dawn in the call of duty.

Give me an older man’s death,

not drowning in aftershave,

squaring up for a close shave.

Oh! make it linger make it last,

not a fatal dose from textual intercourse.

Give me an  even older man’s death,

not frightened by friends of a foreign nation,

angered by ideas above my PlayStation.

Oh! make it linger make it last,

Rage, rage against the dying of my hair.

Give me an  even-even older man’s death,

not minimum wages or virtual STD ‘phages

Oh! make it linger make it last,

I don’t want to feel the burn of a chemical peel,

save me from enema detox and scrotal Brazilian botox.

Methuselah was youthful,

I know the bible is truthful.

I want to be older, let the youth keep the bolder,

in my will is the oldest man’s death.

Leave a Reply

